Individual aircraft detail page

Douglas DC-3/C-47/Dakota series.

This page was last updated on 14 February, 2011.

Royal Australian Navy Historic Flight Dakota N2-90 / VH-NVZ. Photograph by Alan Scoot.

This list contains details about several hundred Douglas DC-3 aircraft and the other aircraft derived from them. Eventualy we hope to list all of the DC-3 series aircraft produced.

To find the aircraft you are looking for, press the Ctrl & F keys. When the search box opens up, type in the registration/military serial you are after and click on "find next". Events which occured on an unknown date are listed with ? at the start of the entry. Some of these may have a date at the end of the entry which indicates a time which the entry was current. ie: ? The aircraft was acquired by Brian Thompson, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia. 2004. This means that I do not have the date when Brian acquired the aircraft, but I do know that he owned it during 2004. 

If you cannot find the information that you are after or if you can supply us with any further information to add to this site, please drop us a line via e-mail.

The list has now grown to such a large size that I have had to break it down into 2 main parts.

The first covers all the construction numbers before 13,000.

The second half covers all aircraft from construction number 13,000 onwards and also any aircraft that I have not yet tied to a construction number.

Part 1 - Aircraft up to Construction Number 12,999.

Part 2 - Aircraft from Construction Number 13,000 onwards.

E-mail us

Using a web based e-mail? Type in 

Subscribe to DC-3

Powered by


We would like to thank the following people and organisations for their help with this site.

Zane Adams.

Air Britain.

Glenn Alderton.

Tony Baxter.

Jean Louis Bleneau.

Alan Bovelt.

Capt Russ Brown.

George Canciani.

Gary Chambers.

Mike Clayton.

Brian Cook.

Chris Griffiths.

Chris Holland.

Ed Holley.

Ruud Leeuw.

Bill Larkin.

Dion Makowski.

Andy Marden.

Paul Miller.

Nicholai Musante.

Fred Nivan.

Helio Ornellas.

Michelle Pepper.

Ralph Pettersen.

Michael Prophet.

Charlie Pyles.

Jeff Rankin-Lowe.

Peter Rohan.

Alan Scoot.

Robert Taylor.

Dave Tincher.

Roy Troughton.

Aad van der Voet.

L. J. Vosloo.

Graham Watts.

Ray Watts.


E-mail us

Using a web based e-mail? Type in 


Return to the top of the page

Return to home page

More CNAPG Individual Aircraft History Pages.

Aermacchi MB326
AESL CT-4 Airtrainer
Airco DH.2
Airco DH.3
Airco DH.4
Airco DH.5
Airco DH.6
Airco DH.9
Airco DH.10
Airco DH.11
Auster aircraft
Avro Lancaster
Avro Lincoln
BAE Hawk
Bristol Beaufighter
Bristol Beaufort
Bristol Bulldog
Bristol Freighter
Bristol Sycamore
Cessna 172
Commonwealth Aircraft Corporation Winjeel
Commonwealth Aircraft Corporation Wirraway
Dassault Mirage
deHavilland Dove
deHavilland Dragon
deHavilland Dragon Rapide
deHavilland Dragonfly
deHavilland Express
deHavilland Fox Moth
deHavilland Heron
deHavilland Hornet Moth
deHavilland Moth
deHavilland Tiger Moth
deHavilland Vampire
deHavilland Australia Drover
deHavilland Canada Beaver
deHavilland Canada Caribou
deHavilland Canada Chipmunk
Douglas Dakota
Douglas DC-2
Douglas DC-4
English Electric Canberra
Fairey Battle
General Aircraft Limited Cygnet
General Aircraft Limited Monospar
Gippsland Aeronatics Airvan
Gippsland Aeronatics GA-200
Gloster Meteor
Government Aircraft Factory Nomad
Hawker Demon
Hawker Hunter
Hawker Siddeley Hawk
Lockheed Hercules
North American Mustang
North American Sabre
Pitts Special
Simmonds Spartan (Non CNAPG site)
Supermarine Seagull
Supermarine Walrus
Westland Wapiti
Westland Wessex

When visiting Australia, drop in at

Wagga Wagga and give us a call

Aviation Banner Exchange (Click Here to Join)